Topps Chrome Hobby Box Break

27 12 2009

I received a Topps Chrome hobby box for Christmas, and after the  ripping was done, I thought I’d share it with you folks. This box was lots of fun and I pulled 7 regular refractors, 3 blue ones, a gold one, a rookie auto, and a blue refractor rookie auto. I was pretty pleased with the blue refractor auto that I pulled, as you will see later.

Ok, I was too lazy to scan these but the refractors that I pulled were Elvis Andrus (Rookie), Jered Weaver, Mike Lowell, Chris Young (D-Backs) Ken Griffey Jr., A.J. Pierzynski, Joakim Soria, and Prince Fielder. On a related note, I pulled a Brian Duensing Xfractor out of one of the Chrome retail packs in my stocking, but not a single one out of the entire hobby box. Are the X-fractors retail exclusive?

I also pulled 5 WBC card of random guys that I don’t know and don’t care about, and no refractors of those guys or anything.

On to the hits! My blue refractors were Johan Santana, Ian Stewart, and Jordan Zimmerman (Again??).

These bad boys are all #/199.

As I mentioned earlier, I pulled one gold refractor, which might have been the second best hit of the box. This Cliff Lee is numbered 50/50 and is just a great-looking shiny card. It’s cool to pull the last one they made, too!

Please excuse the tape residue on the toploader, I think I got this one in a trade taped to another one.

Ok, now you’re probably curious as to the nature of my autographs. Given my recent pulls, the first one was a bit of a disappointment. I got a Jordan Zimmerman rookie auto (AGAIN?!?!?!?!?)

I’m a magnet for this guy!!! I should probably start collecting him, because if he has a great career, I’ve got 2 rookie autographs and a rookie blue refractor/199 of him. If only I attracted Ryan Zimmerman cards like this. Oh yeah, and on top of that, if you look at one of the chrome cards next to the T206 one, IT’S THE SAME PICTURE!!

Ok. That’s enough whining, because this next card made the whole box worth it. It is a blue refractor autograph, numbered/199, of the AMERICAN LEAGUE ROOKIE OF THE YEAR!!! HOLY SCHNIKES!!!

Wow! What a great card! I even thought about buying one of the regular autographs from him on ebay during the season, but now I’m glad to have held off. This pull really sealed the status as a good box, and I’m really happy to have this card in my possession. Whoo!

Thanks for reading, Giantsfan

Actions

Information

8 responses

27 12 2009
wickedortega

I’ve got 2 rookie autographs and a rookie blue refractor/199 of him i’ll take all three of them off your hands!

27 12 2009
giantsfan1000

OK, you got any Giants stuff?

27 12 2009
John Bateman

Nice Pull

27 12 2009
giantsfan1000

Thank you!

27 12 2009
wickedortega

i will be heading to the card shop today to pick some giant stuff up!

28 12 2009
giantsfan1000

Sweet! Let me know what you find!

28 12 2009
wickedortega

So far i ahve a Matt Cain gu card…

29 12 2009
wickedortega

i got a package together for you some ill send it some time this week….

Leave a Reply

