New Year New Cards Part 2: Patrick Willis

3 01 2010

As part two of my checkoutmycards.com splurge, I had an idea to broaden my collection and start collecting a specific player.  I couldn’t think of any from the MLB, so I tried the NFL for the first time.  Living in the Bay Area, my first thought was Patrick Willis of the Niners.  He is so good at linebacker and his cards on checkoutmycards.com were pretty awesome.  I’ve always wanted to collect a NFL player and here was my chance!  I didn’t get much of Willis since my main focus of this splurge were Angels, but here they are:

Flipping through the pages, there were a lot of rookie cards with Willis in his Ole Miss Jersey, so I got the cheapest one they had.  Above is a 2007 Topps Draft Picks and Prospects (DPP) Patrick Willis Rookie Card.  It’s not numbered even though it has a gold border.

Since I wasn’t going to spend too much on some Willis cards yet, I decided to find a sweet refractor.  Here is a 2009 Topps Chrome Patrick Willis Copper Refractor #/649.

When you start a collection, you have to get a hit or some sort of memarobilia.  Above is a 2007 Leaf Rookies and Stars Patrick Willis Rookie Jersey 230/250.  This was one of the sweetest jersery cards checkoutmycards had and I love the look of it.

This is just a start to a Patrick Willis collection.  If you happen to have a Patrick Willis hit, leave a comment or shoot me an email at mattersted@gmail.com and we’ll work something out.

Also, this doesn’t mean I’m going to start collecting Football cards, it just means I’ll be collecting Patrick Willis cards.

Thanks for reading,

Angelsfan!

Actions

Information

One response

3 01 2010
John Bateman

He was a 1st team AP All-Pro in 2007 and might be named again next week for 2009.

Leave a Reply

